Mahants & Gurus

The head of Darbar Sahib, called Sajjada Nashin Shri Mahant leads a life of celibacy and dedicate his life for the noble cause of the society.

Rishi-munis, sages-saints, hermits-ascetics and great souls do not need introduction. Their personality and performance leave a permanent impression on the society by itself and people are drawn towards them through their magnetic attraction.

Most probably, this might have been the reason why our hermits and saints never said or wrote anything about themselves. Self-praise is not a quality of saints. It is not a virtue at all. They remained so busy in seeking the subtle truth and benevolence that they were not even conscious of their own importance. The contact of the common people with them was limited to get their blessings and have "darshan". People remained busy in earning their livelihood and as such, the dates of birth and death anniversaries of most of those great souls were forgotten. But the saying, "By their fruits ye shall know them," applies to them and cherishes such great persons. For want of any record of their dates of birth, education etc., the statements of the aged, their preachings, popular acceptances and assumptions can only be considered its basis. It is enough for the curious to know the history of their life and work. We remember those great souls by turning the pages of that history based on inferences.

Shri Guru Ram Rai Ji Maharaj left for his heavenly abode in 1687 and the work of the Darbar Sahib was then managed by Mata Punjab Kaur. In those days women were forbidden to occupy the seat (Gaddi) of a religious sect or a Mahant, hence she carried on the work with the help of an experienced assistant and devotee of the Darbar Sahib, Shri Aud Dass Ji, and the chief employee, Shri Har Prasad Ji. Shri Aud Dass Ji was declared as the first Shri Mahant. He had worked under the guidance of Shri Guru Ram Rai Ji and he had gained a lot of experience.

The First
Shri Mahant Aud Dass Ji

The Second
Shri Mahant Har Prasad Ji

The Third
Shri Mahant Har Sewak Ji

The Fourth
Shri Mahant Har Swaroop Dass Ji

The Fifth
Shri Mahant Preetam Dass Ji

The Sixth
Shri Mahant Narayan Dass Ji

The Seventh
Shri Mahant Prayag Dass Ji

The Eight
Shri Mahant Laxman Dass Ji

The Ninth
Shri Mahant Indiresh Charan Dass Ji

The Tenth
Shri Mahant Devendra Dass Ji